Time To Re-Invent Myself

I now have been homeschooling my kids for 25 years. Two of my three older kids have graduated from College and have moved on to the workforce. My oldest daughter graduates from Auburn this May. With this change, I now only have 2 at home and they are independent dual enrolled juniors.

It’s time to start figuring out what I am going to do for the next part of my life. What do I want to do that is a definitely something to ponder. I have taught and run a homeschool co-op for years. It’s become apparent that I no longer fit in that environment. It’s amazing last year at this time if you would have said I would be leaving this year, I would have laughed. With the on-set of COVID and the reaction to many in the home school community, has really brought home the point it’s time to go. They have blindly followed all groups who support the agenda that COVID is not that serious. I find it’s really easy to not believe the virus is as serious as it is when you are isolated from it and only listen to Fox News.

Sadly, my oldest son is an ER nurse who has had to deal with the virus every shift he has worked. He has been assigned to the ER’s COVID pod since the virus hit Alabama. While the home school community can put their heads in sand, I have to watch the pain in my son’s eyes as he talks about what he is dealing with at work. While they say it’s no worse than the flu, I get to hear about patients he has lost. I get to hear the sadness in his voice when he tells me they did everything they could but couldn’t save them. I get to hear the defeat in this voice when he says they couldn’t even move them to the ICU because it was full. Yes, it’s very easy to follow Fox News when you are not cleaning up the mess the virus is causing.

Yes, it’s time to leave the homeschool community, but what do I want to do…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment